University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Founded in 1896, the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits), is the third oldest South African university in continuous operation. The university has an enrolment of 39,000 students of which 65 percent are undergraduate and 35 percent are postgraduate. Home to 28 prestigious South African Research Initiative (SARChI) Chairs and six DST-NRF Centres of Excellence, there are over 400 NRF rated researchers, of which 26 are ‘international leading scholars’ in their research fields. The university consists of five faculties: Commerce, Law and Management, Engineering and the Built Environment, Health Sciences, Humanities and Science. Wits has held the position of top university in South Africa, according to the Center for World University Rankings (CWUR) rankings, since 2014.