Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Addis Ababa University (AAU), founded in 1950, is Ethiopia’s oldest university. It ranks first among 33 Ethiopian higher education institutions accredited by the Higher Education Relevance and Quality Agency and has a current enrolment of over 52,000 students. With the motto: ‘seek knowledge, elevate your intellect and serve humanity’ – the University comprises 10 colleges, 12 research and teaching institutes 12 schools and 14 faculties. The university is the oldest school of higher education in Ethiopia. AAU has thirteen campuses. Twelve of these are situated in Addis Ababa, and one is located in Bishoftu.