National Taiwan University of Arts

Posted on June 30, 2015

National Taiwan University of Arts is a university in Banqiao District, New Taipei, Taiwan. It is the oldest art university in Taiwan. NTUA was originally established as the National School of Arts on 31 October 1955. In 1960, the name was changed to the National Academy of Arts, and then again in August 1994 to the National College of Arts. The college took on its present name as National Taiwan University of Arts on 1 August 2001.

Education at NTUA emphasizes humanistic thinking, creative production, theoretical analysis and hands-on practice. In terms of scope, education includes the local and the international, the avant garde and the traditional, the creative and the commercial, and the theoretical and the practical.

NTUA university is made up of five colleges which include the College of Fine Arts, the College of Design, the College of Communications, the College of Performing Arts, and the College of Humanities. In addition to day division undergraduate programs and graduate programs, there are also Extended Bachelor Degree Courses (evenings), two-year in-service BA programs, and in-service MA programs. The university employs about 186 staff members, 165 full-time faculty members, and 771 part-time teachers. The university is home to about 5000 students.